August 15 is India's Independence Day

India will be celebrates Independence Day every August 15. I don't know why they celebrate it every August 15, because I've read somewhere that India officially became an Independent Nation at the stroke of 12 midnight of August 14. It was 1947 when India was born as a Sovereign Nation and was freed from the British rule.

India National Flag-National Anthem
National Flag of India

India's National Anthem is called Jana Gana Mana. I have the lyrics of India's National Anthem in Indian Native language as well as in English.

Jana Gana Mana Lyrics

jana-gaNa-mana-adhinAyaka, jaya he'
vindhya himAchala yamunA gangA
uchchala jaladhi tarangA

tava Subha nAme' jAge'
tava Subha ASisha mAge'
gAhe' tava jaya-gAthA |

jana-gaNa-mangaLadAyaka, jaya he'
jaya he', jaya he', jaya he',
jaya jaya jaya, jaya he' |

Jana Gana Mana English Version:

Thou art the rulers of the minds of all people,

dispenser of India's destiny.

Thy name rouses the hearts of Punjab, Sind, Gujarat and Maratha,

Of the Dravida and Orissa and Bengal;

It echoes in the hills of the Vindhyas and Himalayas,

mingles in the music of Yamuna and Ganga and is chanted by

the waves of the Indian Sea.

They pray for thy blessings and sing thy praise.

The saving of all people waits in thy hand,

thou dispenser of India's destiny,

Victory, victory, victory to thee.

Note: India shares the date of their independence with South Korea. South Korea's Independence Day is also celebrated every August 15.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Please let me know what you think!
This is a dofollow blog. Please make comments that are related to the post. Comments are ALWAYS moderated. No spamming will be tolerated.


Blog Widget by LinkWithin